Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Catching Up With The ASA Family Over The Summer

Staff Summer Happenings


Dean Schneider's Baptism! 
Mrs. Patterson in Rome! 


Mrs. LaPonsie and Miss Giroux in Class at Notre Dame

Loving & Serving: 

Mrs Szczytko in Alaska

Mrs. Carrie Bowman's Family in Grand Haven

Mr. Kress Driving the Boat at Summer Camp! 

We would love to see what you are doing this summer also! Share your pictures directly with us or post them via social media using #LoveMyCatholicSchool and tag ASA to enter the Diocese of Grand Rapids Catholic Schools #LoveMyCatholicSchool contest.

Thanks to Josh Murray for sharing some summer sports pictures with us! 

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

History of All Saints Academy - Our Four Founding Parishes and Schools

Blessed Sacrament 

Blessed Sacrament Parish was established by Bishop Francis J. Haas in March of 1946. He appointed Father John Collins as the first pastor for the 256 founding families. Initially Masses were celebrated at the Veterans' Facility and other various locations on the northeast side of Grand Rapids. 

In 1950, Blessed Sacrament School opened with 250 students and a staff of six Dominican Sisters. In 1952, a gymnasium-auditorium was added to the school as a temporary church until the main church building was dedicated in 1989. 

St. Alphonsus

St. Alphonsus Parish was founded in 1888. Bishop Henry Joseph Richter invited the Redemptorist Fathers to administer the parish. Masses were celebrated in Finn's Hall until the church and school buildings were completed in 1889.  St. Alphonsus School opened in September of 1889, led by the Dominican sisters. 

As the congregation and school grew, plans for a new church building were started in 1905. The building currently in use today was consecrated on December 22, 1909. The church and school building have been remodeled a number of times. In recent years the parish convent was converted into low-cost housing. 

St. Alphonsus History Link

St. Isidore 

In 1891, Polish families on the northeast side of Grand Rapids worked with Father Ponganis to raise $1,000 to buy land on Diamond for a church. In 1897, Bishop Henry Joseph Richter blessed the cornerstone. The church was originally referred to as St. Stanislaus, but in 1900 it was named St. Isidore by the bishop. 

As the parish grew plans for a new church were made. The new church was consecrated by Bishop Michael J. Gallagher on March 22, 1917. St Isidore School was built in 1926, and a convent and new rectory were added in 1955 and 1957.  In 1994, the Pope John Paul II Eucharistic Adoration Chapel was opened. 


St. Jude

In 1946, the parish of St. Jude began with a Catholic community that was gathering at the Veteran's Facility. As the group grew they eventually moved to two Quonset huts on land just off of Plainfield Avenue. In 1952, Father Charles Brophy was assigned to the parish. Under his leadership the current 26-acre property was acquired. 

In 1957, a convent and St. Jude School opened led by Sister Florentine. In 1964, St. Jude Church was completed. 

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

2019-2020 Supply Lists

Student Supply Lists are now available!  

In addition to the traditional PDF/printable file, there are also links to online lists. These online lists will allow you to buy all the supplies online at Amazon, Office Depot, Staples, Target, and Walmart. You can also use the PDF list to see all grades at once and shop wherever you prefer. 

The links are on the Forms and Documents page of our website, or use the links below:

Summer 2019 At ASA

Snapshots from June

Forkie Craft from Toy Story 4

Picnic Time

Splash Pad! 

Happy 4th of July! 

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

ASA Parish Scholarships and Awards 2019

Irene Czarnecki Memorial Award - Blessed Sacrament 

  • Conduct and effort marks of 1's and 2's only
  • Displays Christian stewardship by demonstrating
    • a) respect for self and others 
    • b) responsibility 
    • c) accountability
  • Student must be in grades 6 or 7
  • The middle school teachers will write a narrative of the candidate. 
  • The Pastor, Principal, and a member of the Czarnecki family will review all the narratives and select, through consensus, the narrative which exemplifies the criteria above. 
  • The student will receive the award at the end of the last school Mass in May.
  • The amount of tuition off for the following school year will be $500.00. A tuition-off certificate will be issued to the family. 
The winner of the 2019 Irene Czarneck Memorial Award is Nick Schaab.

Sr. Olga Mizzi & Sr. Roberta Hefferan Scholarships - St. Alphonsus 

The Grand Rapids Dominican Sisters established these scholarships in the names of two members of their community who were deeply engaged in St. Alphonsus Parish. Sister Roberta Hefferan, OP, recognized and responded to the needs of others through vibrant social outreach programs including the Food & Clothing Pantry. Sister Olga Mizzi, OP, was devoted to religious service and education and brought joy and knowledge to thousands of students as a teacher in St. Alphonsus School.

Goal: To recognize and award two All Saints Academy students who model the examples set by Sister Olga Mizzi, OP, and Sister Roberta Hefferan, OP.  Recipients of the award will receive a $500 tuition credit for All Saints Academy.


  • Nominee must desire to attend All Saints Academy in the following academic year. 
  • Nominee must be a parishioner of St. Alphonsus Parish. 
  • Nominee must demonstrate excellence in social involvement, service to the community, religious service and/or education. 
  • Nominations must be submitted in writing with scholarship nomination form to the St. Alphonsus Parish office or All Saints Academy school office. 
The winners of the 2019 Sr. Olga Mizzi & Sr. Roberta Hefferan Awards are Averie Carter and Cameron Pierson.

Sean Earl Memorial Scholarship - St. Alphonsus

Goal: The Sean Earl Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to two seventh grade students who demonstrate strength of character, service, and kindness toward others.  Recipients of the award receive a $1,000 tuition credit for All Saints Academy.


  • Nominee must be a seventh grade student at All Saints Academy.
  • Nominee must desire to attend All Saints Academy in the following academic year. 
  • Nominee must be a parishioner of St. Alphonsus Parish. 
  • Award winners will be selected by the Executive Director and Principal of All Saints Academy Middle School.
The winners of the 2019 Sean Early Memorial Scholarship are Christian Florido and Gavin McKinney.

Thank you, to our 4 founding Parishes for their continued support! 

Congratulations to ALL scholarship winners! 

For those looking for more information about Financial Assistance to attend All Saints Academy click here

If you are interested in supporting a student pursuing a Catholic education at ASA check out these opportunities: